Institute of Catalysis Research and Technology (IKFT)

Single Step DME Synthesis

The hydrogenation of mixed CO/CO2 feeds leads to dimethyl ether (DME), an intermediate for further conversion to fuel-type hydrocarbons (also DME itself is already a potential alternative to conventional diesel fuel). The single-stage process requires catalysts that catalyze both the formation of methanol and its dehydration to DME. The single-stage conversion of CO2/H2 to DME is comparatively less studied than that of CO/H2, but in addition to avoiding an energetically unfavourable RWGS step, it offers the advantage of utilizing CO2 directly as a raw material.

The main tasks in this research topic are the development and research of highly active hybrid and multifunctional catalysts, which have a methanol forming and a dehydrating functionality. The production of new catalyst materials includes the comprehensive characterisation of morphology and physical parameters, surface properties and bulk materials as well as the investigation of the scale-up capability of syntheses.

Studies on single-stage DME synthesis are carried out in reactor systems, which enable the examination of model catalysts as well as the determination of the reaction-kinetic parameters relevant for process engineering and dynamic operating modes.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Einstufige DME-Synthese

Die Hydrierung von CO/CO2-Gemischen führt zu Dimethylether (DME), einem Intermediat für die weitere Konversion zu Kohlenwasserstoffen (auch DME selber stellt bereits eine potenzielle Alternative zu herkömmlichem Dieselkraftstoff dar). Die einstufige Prozessführung erfordert Katalysatoren, die sowohl die Bildung von Methanol als auch dessen Dehydratisierung zu DME katalysieren. Die einstufige Konversion von CO2/H2 zu DME ist vergleichsweise weniger untersucht als die von CO/H2, bietet jedoch neben der Vermeidung einer energetisch ungünstigen RWGS-Stufe den Vorteil, CO2 direkt stofflich zu nutzen.

Hauptaufgaben in diesem Forschungsthema sind die Entwicklung und Erforschung hochaktiver hybrider und multifunktioneller Katalysatoren, die in der Basis eine Methanol-bildende und eine dehydratisierende Funktionalität aufweisen. Die Herstellung neuer Katalysatormaterialien beinhaltet die umfassende Charakterisierung der Morphologie und physikalischer Kenngrößen, der Oberflächeneigenschaften und der Bulkmaterialien sowie die Untersuchung der Scaleup-Fähigkeit der Synthesen.
Die Untersuchungen zur einstufigen DME-Synthese werden an Reaktorsystemen durchgeführt, die sowohl die Betrachtung von Modellkatalysatoren ermöglicht als auch die Bestimmung der prozesstechnisch relevanten reaktionskinetischen Parameter und dynamische Betriebsweisen einschließt.