Institute of Catalysis Research and Technology (IKFT)

High-pressure Investigations in the Field of Geothermal Energy

Due to the complexity of geologic issues the exact ion analytics of concentrated saline waters of deeper rock strata are of essential importance for geothermal power plant processes. Because of high salinities (to 300 g/l) problems and fallouts by gas emissions, salt precipitations and corrosion during the process can occur. The simulation of real "in situ-conditions" in the laboratory with pressure, temperature and suitable location composition are pulled up for the development of preventive methods. With it technical solution approaches can be developed for the monitoring of geothermal power plant processes and can be implemented to reduce fallouts.

The same problems arise during the injection of CO2 in aquiferes for its storage: solubility changes and adverse reactions are triggered by pressure and temperature. Also here a simulation of the real ratios occurs: under pressure (to 500 bar) and temperature (to 200°C) with high salinity (to 120 g/l and more) by free-of-touch online analysis.

Because these kind of experiments are complex and cost-intensive, the number of it should be kept so small as possible and in order to fill the data gaps a combination of experiments and modelling should be used.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Hochdruckuntersuchungen in Hydrothermalsystemen

Aufgrund komplexer geologischer Begebenheiten ist die exakte Ionen-Analytik hochsalinarer Wässer in den tieferen Gesteinsschichten für den Geothermiekraftswerkbetrieb von essentieller Bedeutung. Durch die hohen Salzgehalte (bis 300 g/l) kommt es während des Prozesses von Ein- und Rückspeisung zu Problemen und hohen Ausfallquoten durch Ausgasungen, Salzausfällungen und Korrosion. Die Simulation realer in-situ Verhältnisse im Labor bei Druck, Temperatur und entsprechender Standortzusammensetzung werden für die Entwicklung präventiver Methoden herangezogen. Damit können technische Lösungsansätze für das Monitoring des Geothermiekraftwerksbetriebs entwickelt und dort implementiert werden, um die Ausfallquote zu reduzieren.

Die­sel­be Problematik entsteht auch bei der Injektion von CO2 in Aquifere zur Tief­speicherung, da auch hier unter Druck und Temperatur Löslichkeitsverän­de­rungen und Reaktionen ausgelöst werden. Auch hier erfolgt eine Simulation der realen Verhältnisse unter Druck (bis 500 bar) und Temperatur (bis 200°C) bei hoher Salinität (bis 120 g/l und mehr) durch berührungsfreie online-Analyse.

Da die Experimente aufwändig und kostenintensiv sind, soll ihre Anzahl so gering wie möglich gehalten und durch eine geschickte Kombination aus Experiment und Modellierung die Datenlücken gefüllt werden.

Eine Zusammenfassung der Expertise finden sie in dieser Veröffentlichung und diesem Poster.