Institute of Catalysis Research and Technology (IKFT)

Other Projects (Catalysis and Processes for CO2 Fixation and Sustainable Fuels)

Catalysts and Mechanisms

Program: “Storage and Cross-linked Infrastructures” (SCI)
Topic: “Synthetic Hydrocarbons”
Subtopic: “Catalysts and Mechanisms”

We develop and test new catalyst materials and use innovative synthesis procedures. In close cooperation with other IKFT groups we work on the understanding of structure-effect relationships.

Regarding the desired products, catalysts play a key role. High selectivities are crucial, especially in the fuels sector, to avoid extensive and costly separation and purification procedures.

 

Components and Process Development

Program: “Storage and Cross-linked Infrastructures” (SCI)
Topic: “Synthetic Hydrocarbons”
Subtopic: “Components and Process Development”

Studies on single-step DME synthesis are carried out in reactor systems, which enable the examination of model catalysts as well as the determination of the reaction-kinetic parameters relevant for process engineering and dynamic operating modes.

Regarding the conversion of DME to fuels such as gasoline and OME, which is extensively investigated within SCI, the entire process chain from raw materials to fuels is considered. In this context, up-scaling is an essential issue for comparison and evaluation of the different strategies.

 

NAMOSYN

Within the project NAMOSYN Sustainable mobility by synthetic fuels which is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, the production of synthetic fuels is investigated. The work is carried out by a consortium of renowned companies as well as research facilities and various issues such as raw materials, synthesis strategies, testing, evaluation and also scenarios for a market launch are addressed. The focus is on a sustainable production which meets the corresponding ecological, economical and also social demands.

On the part of IKFT, oxymethylene ethers (OME) are developed. These are alternative diesel fuels which exhibit promising combustion and emission characteristics. Due to the vast experience of the institute in this field, up-scaling is another important topic and even world-scale is envisaged. A process model for the overall process is developed and all process steps, i.e. reactions as well as separation procedures, will be demonstrated in a modular way

 

reFuels

Project "reFuels - Rethinking fuels"

The use of sustainably produced fuels (reFuels) is a promising path towards CO2-neutral mobility, alongside other measures such as the expansion of electromobility. These fuels can be produced from carbonaceous residues from agriculture and forestry, from industrial and municipal waste, as well as from CO2 in combination with hydrogen obtained by electrolysis of water. These fuels together represent the so-called reFuels. The project, funded by the state of Baden-Württemberg, aims to demonstrate the feasibility of regenerative fuels in daily life, taking into account sustainability from raw materials to synthesis and use.

IKFT's main task within the project is the provision and qualification of major quantities of synthetic fuels on a regenerative basis from the operation of the existing bioliq® pilot plant.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Weitere Projekte (Katalyse und Prozesse für CO2-Fixierung und nachhaltige Kraftstoffe)

Catalysts and Mechanisms

Programm: “Storage and Cross-linked Infrastructures” (SCI)
Topic: “Synthetic Hydrocarbons”
Subtopic: “Catalysts and Mechanisms”

Wir entwickeln und testen neue Katalysatormaterialien und setzen innovative Herstellverfahren ein. In enger Kooperation mit anderen Gruppen des IKFT arbeiten wir an der Aufklärung von Struktur-Wirkungsbeziehungen.

Im Hinblick auf die gewünschten Produkte spielen die Katalysatoren eine Schlüsselrolle. Gerade im Kraftstoffbereich sind hohe Selektivitäten unabdingbar, um aufwändige und kostspielige Trenn- und Reinigungsverfahren zu vermeiden.

 

Components and Process Development

Programm: “Storage and Cross-linked Infrastructures” (SCI)
Topic: “Synthetic Hydrocarbons”
Subtopic: “Components and Process Development”

Die Untersuchungen zur einstufigen DME-Synthese werden an Reaktorsystemen durchgeführt, die sowohl die Betrachtung von Modellkatalysatoren ermöglicht als auch die Bestimmung der prozesstechnisch relevanten reaktionskinetischen Parameter und dynamische Betriebsweisen einschließt.

Bei der Umsetzung von DME zu Kraftstoffen, z.B. Benzin oder OME, die im Rahmen von SCI intensiv untersucht wird, wird die gesamte Prozesskette von den Rohstoffen bis zum einsatzbereiten Kraftstoff betrachtet. Dabei spielen Aspekte der Maßstabs­ver­größerung eine zentrale Rolle, denn nur so können unterschiedliche Strategien zur Realisierung verglichen und bewertet werden.

 

NAMOSYN

Im vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung geförderten Projekt NAMOSYN Nachhaltige Mobilität durch synthetische Kraftstoffe wird an der Entwicklung und Ein­führung synthetischer Kraftstoffe gearbeitet. In einem umfangreichen Konsortium, das sich aus namhaften Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen zusammensetzt, werden vielfältige Aspekte von den Ausgangsstoffen über die Herstellung, Testung und Bewertung bis hin zu möglichen Szenarien der Markteinführung betrachtet. Dabei steht eine nach­haltige Herstellung, die den relevanten ökologischen, ökonomischen und gesellschaft­lichen Anforderungen genügt, im Vordergrund.

Seitens IKFT wird im Rahmen des NAMOSYN-Forschungsclusters FC1B die Entwicklung von Oxymethylen­ethern (OME), die alternative Dieselkraftstoffe mit einem vielversprechenden Verbrennungs- und Emissionsverhalten darstellen, bearbeitet. Aufgrund der langjährigen Erfahrungen des Instituts in diesem Bereich, spielt auch die Maßstabsvergrößerung bis hin in den „World-Scale-Maßstab“ eine wichtige Rolle. Neben der Abbildung des Gesamt­verfahrens in einem Prozessmodell wird die Demonstration der einzelnen Prozess­schritte in ent­sprechenden Modulen, die alle Reaktions- und Stofftrennprozesse umfassen, angestrebt.

 

reFuels

Projekt „reFuels – Kraftstoffe neu denken“

Die Nutzung regenerativ hergestellter Kraftstoffe (reFuels) ist neben anderen Maßnahmen wie dem Ausbau der Elektromobilität ein aussichtsreicher Pfad hin zu einer CO2-neutralen Mobilität. Diese Kraftstoffe können aus kohlenstoffhaltigen Reststoffen der Land- und Forstwirtschaft, aus Industrie- und Siedlungsabfällen, wie auch CO2 in Verbindung mit über Elektrolyse von Wasser gewonnenem Wasserstoff hergestellt werden. Diese Kraftstoffe zusammen bilden die Gruppe der reFuels. Das vom Land Baden-Württemberg geförderte Projekt soll die Umsetzbarkeit regenerativer Kraftstoffe im Alltag unter Berücksichtigung der Nachhaltigkeit von den Rohstoffen über die Synthese bis hin zur Nutzung demonstrieren.

.Hautaufgabe des IKFT innerhalb des Projekts ist die Bereitstellung und Qualifizierung größerer Mengen synthetischer Kraftstoffe auf regenerativer Basis aus dem Betrieb der existierenden Pilotanlage bioliq®.