Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT
keins
Contact
Dr. Klaus Raffelt

Tel.: +49 721 608-26507
klaus.raffelt@kit edu

Characterisation and Conditioning of Pyrolysis Products

Biosyncrude (Slurry)
Biosyncrude (Slurry)
Feedlinie - Rührbehälter
Feedline - Mixer

In the context of the bioliq project and the first pyrolysis process step the solid and liquid pyrolysis products are mixed together to a so-called Biosyncrude, a pumping-capable, solid-rich suspension of pyrolysis char and condensate. The Biosyncrude is converted in the High Entrained Flow Gasifier to synthesis gas which can be transformed into chemicals and fuels. For a fully conversion the chemical composition, the viscosity and the heat value have to be considered.

The pilot plant is laid out especially on grain straw as a feedstock. However, in laboratory and technical laboratory other organic feedstocks are also tested and other mixtures of pyrolysis products. In particular it is important to be ensure of the storage stability: Pyrolysis condensates are reactive mixtures and rich of polar organic substances. Moreover, the sedimentation must be considered. Alternative production and feed-in processes are investigated, e.g. with colloid mixers, kneaders, extruders and their individual, specific power demand.

The Biosyncrude made from pyrolysis products is still no standardised fuel, hence, any measurement has to be tested referring to the chemical and physical properties of the biosyncrude and adapted if necessary. Two feedlines are ready for it and can be - in those conventional, as well as innovative measuring instruments on their suitability examined and if necessary - adapted. The smaller feedline (10 kg of contents in the circulation) is suited particularly to the calibration with different compositions, while the bigger Feedlinie (1000 kg of contents in the circulation) checks the suitability in the continuous operation.

The chemical composition of pyrolysis condensates is extremely complicated because of different reasons: Nearly all components are highly polar, and nevertheless, pyrolysis condensates incline to a phase separation between water-soluble and organic-soluble components. Approx. half of the organic substances are  monomers, the other half are aromatic oligomeres (the so-called pyrolysis lignin). The main problem of the chemical analytics is to find the middle course between the best possible characterisation of the specimen and a defensible amount of work involved. It is important, on this occasion to make a distinction between laboratory and process analytics. The laboratory analytics are entitled to higher precision and diversification, of the process analytics it is demanded that it works on a real-time basis and is limited to a few essential parametres.

Beside the use of the pyrolysis products as a Biosyncrude in the bioliq process one can fancy other uses, e.g. the combustion of pyrolysis char pellets and the chemical use of selected components of the pyrolysis  condensates. We examine the chemical modification around the pyrolysis condenates for alternative, attractive uses. The aims of the modifications are e.g. the stabilisation (better storage), rise of the heat value and the synthesis of a special target molecule.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT
keins
Ansprechpartner
Dr. Klaus Raffelt

Tel.: +49 721 608-26507
klaus.raffelt@kit edu

Charakterisierung und Konditionierung von Pyrolyseprodukten

Biosyncrude (Slurry)
Biosyncrude (Slurry)
Feedlinie - Rührbehälter
Feedlinie - Rührbehälter

Im Rahmen des bioliq Projektes werden die festen und flüssigen Pyrolyseprodukte zu einem sogenannten Biosyncrude verarbeitet, einer pumpfähigen feststoffreichen Suspension aus Pyrolysekoks und Pyrolysekondensat. Der Biosyncrude wird im Flugstromvergaser zu Synthesegas umgewandelt, das chemisch zu Zielprodukten z.B. Kraftstoff umgesetzt wird. Für eine einwandfreie Umsetzung muss die chemische Zusammensetzung beachtet werden, die Viskosität und der Heizwert.

 

Die Pilotanlage ist speziell ausgelegt auf Getreidestroh als Feedmaterial. In Labor und Technikum werden aber auch andere Einsatzgüter getestet und andere Mischungen von Pyrolyseprodukten. Besonders ist dabei auf die Lagerstabilität zu achten, denn Pyrolysekondensate sind reaktive Mischungen polarer organischer Verbindungen. Außerdem muss die Sedimentation beachtet werden. Alternative Herstellungs- und Einspeiseverfahren werden untersucht, z.B. im Kolloidmischer, Kneter, Extruder mit ihrem jeweiligen spezifischen Energiebedarf.

 

Der Biosyncrude aus Pyrolyseprodukten ist noch kein standardisierter Brennstoff, daher muss jegliche Messtechnik zu den chemischen und physikalischen Eigenschaften erst getestet und gegebenenfalls angepasst werden. Dafür stehen 2 Feedlinien bereit, in denen sowohl konventionelle, als auch innovative Messgeräte auf ihre Eignung geprüft und gegebenfalls verändert / angepasst werden können. Die kleinere Feedlinie (10kg Inhalt im Umlauf) eignet sich besonders zur Kalibrierung bei verschiedenen Zusammensetzungen, während die größere Feedlinie (1000kg Inhalt im Umlauf) die Eignung im Dauerbetrieb prüft.

 

Die chemische Zusammensetzung von Pyrolysekondenaten ist aus verschiedenen Gründen äußerst komplex: Fast alle Bestandteile sind hochpolar, und doch neigen Pyrolysekondensate zu einer Phasentrennung zwischen eher wasserlöslichen und eher organisch löslichen Bestandteilen. Etwa die Hälfte der organischen Verbindungen liegen monomer vor, die andere Hälfte in aromatischen Oligomeren, dem sogenannten Pyrolyselignin. Das Hauptproblem der chemischen Analytik ist, den Mittelweg zu finden zwischen einer bestmögliche Charakterisierung der Probe und einem vertretbaren Arbeitsaufwand. Wichtig ist hierbei, zu unterscheiden zwischen Labor- und Prozessanalytik. Die Laboranalytik hat den Anspruch auf höhere Präzision und Diversifikation, von der Prozessanalytik wird gefordert, dass sie in Echtzeit arbeitet, sich dabei aber auf wenige wesentliche Parameter beschränkt.

 

Neben der Nutzung der Pyrolyseprodukte als Biosyncrude im bioliq Prozess kann man sich andere Verwendungen vorstellen, z.B. die Verbrennung von Pyrolysekokspellets und die chemische Nutzung von ausgewählten Komponenten der Pyrolysekondensate. Wir untersuchen die chemische Modifizierung um die Pyrolysekondenate für alternative Nutzungen attraktiv zu machen. Ziele der Modifizierung sind z.B. die Stabilisierung (bessere Lagerfähigkeit), Erhöhung des Heizwertes, Synthese eines speziellen Zielmoleküls.

 

© KIT, IKFT 2017