Institute of Catalysis Research and Technology (IKFT)

Nanoparticulate materials for catalytic processes

Nanoparticulate hydrogenation catalyst prepared via thermolysis of a molecular [Pd8(CO)8(PMe3)7] cluster in mesoporous MCM-41
Ferrofluid on the basis of Co nanoparticles
Co-nanoparticles

Nanomaterials reveal novel physico-chemical properties of electronic, magnetic or catalytic nature and thus offer interesting perspectives for new applications. Heterogeneous catalysis, e.g., is among the oldest commercial applications of nanoscience. Metal particles finely dispersed on supports represent widely used, industrial catalysts. Yet, these particles usually show broad size distributions, irregular morphologies and, hence, multiple active sites with different catalytic performances. The employment of well-defined nanoparticles and nanoparticle assemblies as model systems provides an interesting approach towards a more fundamental understanding of the impact of material characteristics on catalytic performance and, thus, for a future more rational catalyst design. The development of high-quality nanoparticulate materials requires a large repertoire of chemical or template-assisted synthetic methods. Despite the recent synthetic and technological progress in the development of nanostructured materials, many problems aren’t solved yet and the underlying mechanisms of nucleation and growth processes aren’t sufficiently understood.

Our studies aim at

  • the development of efficient methods for the synthesis of nanomaterials optimized with respect to structure and function (colloidal chemistry / liquid-phase synthesis, organometallic and template-assisted synthetic methods (including biological templates), integration of nanoparticles into functional hybrid or composite materials),
  • the structural characterization (e.g., by electron microscopy (SEM / TEM), scanning force microscopy, UV vis spectroscopy , dynamic light scattering (DLS), powder X-ray diffraction (XRD))
  • basic experimental investigations for future technical applications in the area of catalytic processes (e.g., syngas chemistry, hydrogenation) and magnetic hybrid materials (magnetic fluids, magnetic composite materials).

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Ansprechpartner
PD Dr. Silke Behrens

Tel.: +49 721 608-26512
silke behrensDlm7∂kit edu

Nanoskalige Materialien für katalytische Prozesse

Nanopartikulärer Hydrierungskatalysator hergestellt durch Thermolyse einer molekularen [Pd8(CO)8(PMe3)7]-Clustervorläuferverbindung in MCM-41
Nanopartikulärer Hydrierungskatalysator hergestellt durch Thermolyse einer molekularen [Pd8(CO)8(PMe3)7]- Clustervorläuferverbindung in MCM-41
Ferrofluid auf Co-Basis
Ferrofluid auf Co-Basis
Co-Nanopartikel
Co-Nanopartikel

Nanomaterialien zeichnen sich durch im Vergleich zum makroskopischen Festkörper neuartige physiko-chemische Eigenschaften aus und bieten daher interessante Perspektiven für neue Anwendungen, beispielsweise im Bereich hochaktiver, selektiver Katalysatorsysteme. Die große Anzahl und veränderte Koordination der Oberflächenatome, die an der Oberfläche exponierten kristallographischen Flächen und die größenabhängigen, elektronischen Eigenschaften der Nanopartikel beeinflussen die aktiven Zentren von Katalysatoren. Nanopartikuläre Systeme stellen daher interessante katalytische Modelsysteme dar. Die Steuerung der Materialsynthese ist dabei von essentieller Bedeutung im Hinblick auf die Qualität der Materialeigenschaften und der Funktion. Die Entwicklung hochwertiger Nanomaterialien erfordert daher ein großes Repertoire an chemischen bzw. templatgestützten Synthesemethoden, die das gezielte Einstellen dieser Einflussgrößen ermöglichen. Trotz präparativer, methodischer und technischer Fortschritte bei der Entwicklung nanostrukturierter Materialien sind viele Probleme bisher ungelöst und zugrundeliegende Prozesse wie Nukleations- und Wachstumsprozesse häufig nicht ausreichend verstanden.

Unsere Untersuchungen zielen auf

  • die Entwicklung effizienter Synthesemethoden für struktur- und funktionsoptimierte Nanomaterialien (kolloidchemische Flüssigphasensynthese, organometallische und templatgestützte Syntheseverfahren (einschließlich biologischer Template), das Trägern bzw. die Einbettung der Nanopartikel in Funktionsmaterialien),
  • die strukturelle Charakterisierung (Elektronenmikroskopie (REM/TEM), Atomkraftmikroskopie, UV/Vis-Spektroskopie, Dynamische Lichtstreuung, Pulverdiffraktometrie ….),
  • grundlegende experimentelle Untersuchungen mit Blick auf zukünftige technologische Anwendungen im Bereich katalytischer Prozesse (z. B. Synthesegaschemie, Hydrierungen) und magnetischer Hybridmaterialien (magnetische Flüssigkeiten, magnetische Verbundmaterialien).