Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT
Jörg Sauer
Head of Institute - Speaker
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Sauer

Institute of Catalysis Research and Technology (IKFT)

Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
D-76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen

Phone: +49 721 608-22401
Fax: +49 721 608-22244
officeTro6∂ikft kit edu


Felix Studt
Head of Institute
Prof. Dr. Felix Studt

Institute of Catalysis Research and Technologie (IKFT)

Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen

Phone: +49 721 608-28663
Fax: +49 721 608-22244
officeVlz7∂ikft kit edu


Institute of Catalysis Research and Technology (IKFT)

The Institute of Catalysis Research and Technology was founded 2011. Its mission is to bridge the gap between fundamental and applied research and the development of new technologies and products in the field of catalysis and process technology of catalyzed processes. The focus of our work is the sustainable utilization of alternative feedstocks and their conversion into energy carriers intermediates. This includes the development of new catalytic systems based on a fundamental understanding of processes on a molecular level.



19.11.201814:00 Lecture (B727 Kolloquiumsraum):
Tomas Bucko, University of Bratislava
“On the origin of the difference between type A and type B skeletal isomerization of C7 alkenes: an ab initio MD study“


The olefin cycle of the methanol-to-olefins (MTO) process was systematically investigated using density functional theory and highly accurate MP2 calculations for the zeolite H-SSZ-13. Olefins from ethylene up to C9 were studied and systematic trends for direct and step-wise olefin methylation and cracking reaction have been obtained. The most favorable cracking reactions are found to involve tertiary carbenium ions, in particular the t-butyl cation, leading to the formation of isobutene. [Catal. Sci. Technol., 2018, 8, 4420-4429]