Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT
Nicolaus Dahmen

Prof. Dr. Nicolaus Dahmen

Leading Scientist
Campus Nord, Building 727, Room 113
phone: +49 721 608-22596
nicolaus dahmenVth9∂kit edu

Institut fuer Katalyseforschung und -technologie (IKFT)
Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen


Personal details

Nicolaus Dahmen studied chemistry at the Ruhr University Bochum. After receiving his Ph.D. in mixed phase thermodynamics in 1992, he moved to the Karlsruhe Research Center (now KIT), where he built up a working group on the application of high pressure processes for chemical reactions and new separation techniques. From 2000 he took over this and other working groups as a head of division for high-pressure process technology. In 2005, he participated in project management for the construction of the bioliq® pilot plant for the production of synthetic fuels from biomass and the research department for thermochemical biomass conversion at the todays Institute for Catalysis Research and Technology. In 2010, he habilitated in the field of process development using supercritical fluids at the University of Heidelberg, Chair of Technical Chemistry. In 2014 he was appointed Leading Scientist at KIT with a Professorship of Conversion of Renewable Resources.

Memberships

Awards

  • UNIDO Blue Sky Award (2006)
  • Silberurkunde des Innovationspreises der Deutschen Wirtschaft (2008)

Teaching

  • Since 2018: Lecture and exercise on Conversion of Renewable Resources within the specialization course on Conversion of Renewable Resources for Material Use at KIT and in cooperation with Hohenheim University
  • Since 2016: Lecture on Reaction Engineering of Renewable Recourses at Hohenheim Universityg
  • 008-2018: Elective course on Technical Chemistry at Heidelberg University comprising two lectures (Unit operations & Reaction engineering), excursions and practical course
  • Since 2008: Lecture Energy from biomass within the International Energy Technology Master course

Research

  • Refuels, Advanced fuels re-considered, 1 academic and 14 partners from industry including Daimler, Bosch, Porsche, Mahle, EnBW and others, Own role: coordination of one of the three clusters, started in 01/2019
  • ValProWa, Valorization of process waters from thermochemical biomass conversion by Fermentation, Own role: coodinator, started 11/2018
  • AMBITION (Advanced Biofuel production with energy system integration), EU ECRIA project in Horizon 2020, 8 partners, Own role: Work package leader, started in 2016
  • BRISK 2 (Biofuels research infrastructure), EU project, 15 partners, Own role: Work package leader, started in 2017

Publications 

google scholar

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT
Nicolaus Dahmen

Prof. Dr. Nicolaus Dahmen

Leitender Wissenschaftler
Campus Nord, Gebäude 727, Raum 113
Tel.: +49 721 608-22596
nicolaus dahmenNhh9∂kit edu

Institut fuer Katalyseforschung und -technologie (IKFT)
Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen


Zur Person

Nicolaus Dahmen hat Chemie an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum studiert. Nach seiner Promotion auf dem Gebiet der Mischphasenthermodynamik 1992 ging er an das damalige Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe (heute KIT), wo er eine Arbeitsgruppe zur Anwendung von Hochdruckprozessen für chemische Reaktionen und neue Trenntechniken mit aufbaute. Diese und andere Arbeitsgruppen übernahm er ab 2000 als Abteilungsleiter für Hochdruckprozesstechnik.  2005 beteiligte er sich an der Projektleitung zum Aufbau der bioliq®-Pilotanlage zur Erzeugung synthetischer Kraftstoffe aus Biomasse und die Forschungsabteilung zur thermochemischen Biomasseumwandlung am heutigen Institut für Katalyseforschung und -technologie. 2010 habilitierte er sich auf dem Gebiet der Prozessentwicklung von Verfahren unter Nutzung überkritischer Fluide an der Universität Heidelberg Lehrstuhl für technische Chemie. In 2014 wurde er zum Leitenden Wissenschaftler am KIT mit einer Professor zur Konversion Nachwachsender Rohstoffe ernannt.

Weitere Funktionen

Preise

  • UNIDO Blue Sky Award (2006)
  • Silberurkunde des Innovationspreises der Deutschen Wirtschaft (2008)

Lehre

  • Seit 2018: Vertiefungsfachverantwortlicher und Vorlesung und Übung zu Verfahren und Prozessketten für nachwachsende Rohstoffe im Vertiefungsfach Produktionsprozesse zur stofflichen Nutzung nachwachsender Rohstoffe am KIT und in Kooperation mit der Universität Hohenheim
  • Seit 2016: Vorlesung zur Reaktionstechnik Nachwachsender Rohstoffe an der Universität Heidelberg
  • 2008-2018: Koordination und Lehrveranstaltungen im Wahlpflichtfach Technische Chemie mit 4 Vorlesungen (Grundoperationen, Reaktionstechnik, Industrielle Prozesse), Praktikum und Exkursionen
  • Seit 2008: Wahlvorlesung Energy from Biomass, zuletzt im Rahmen des Masterstudiengangs Energy Technology Master

Projekte

  • Refuels, reFuels – Kraftstoffe neu denken“, KIT und 14 Partner aus der Wirtschaft mit u.a. Daimler, Bosch, Porsche, Mahle, EnBW, Eigene Rolle: Koordinator des Clusters A zur Bereitstellung von Diesel- und Ottokraftstoffen, Projektstart 01/2019
  • ValProWa, Valorisierung von Prozesswässern aus thermochemischen Prozessen der Biomasseumwandlung zur mikrobiellen Stoffproduktion, BMBF Verbundprojekt mit KIT, Universität Hohenheim, TU München, Projektbeginn 11/2018, Eigene Rolle: Verbundkoordinator
  • AMBITION (Advanced Biofuel production with energy system integration), EU ECRIA in Horizon 2020, 8 Partner, u.a. Aston University, CENER, ECN, KIT, LNEG SINTEF; Eigene Rolle: Work package leader WP5, started in 2016
  • BRISK2 (Biofuels research infrastructure), EU Projekt, 15 Partner; Eigene Rolle: Work package leader WP6, started in 2017

Publikationen  

google scholar